Welcome to Carthage Public Library in Carthage, Missouri. What's new?

Inclement Weather Policy
In cases of inclement weather, the library will be closed when the Carthage Public Schools are forced to close. If we are closed, no overdue fines will be accrued that day. After the first day, we will evaluate the road conditions and will reopen as soon as possible, even if schools remain closed.

Story Time Is Back - New Schedule and Time
Children's Story Time is back - with a new time and schedule. Please note, the program time and dates have been changed. Our first Story Time of the year will be happening on Wednesday, January 28, 2015 at 1:00 PM.
As we head through winter and into spring, Story Time will generally be happening two times a month on Wednesdays at 1:00 PM. Here's a list of upcoming dates:
Wednesday Jan 28 1:00 PM
Wednesday Feb 11 1:00 PM
Wednesday Feb 25 1:00 PM
Wednesday Mar 11 1:00 PM
Wednesday Mar 25 1:00 PM
Wednesday Apr 8 1:00 PM
Wednesday Apr 22 1:00 PM
We're looking forward to seeing you here!

"Paws For Books" R.E.A.D. Dogs January Schedule
Our "Paws For Books" R.E.A.D. dogs will be visiting the Children's Area twice in January:
Wednesday, January 14, 2015 3:30 PM to 5:30 PM - Emmit & Truman with Sarah Saladin
Saturday, January 17, 2015 10 AM 'till Noon - Holly with Peggy Potter

Downloadable Ebooks and Audiobooks Available
Carthage Public Library offers downloadable Ebooks and Audiobooks. No sign-up is required to use the Ebooks site. All CPL patrons with an active card in good standing automatically have an account through our Ebooks system. Head to the Missouri Libraries 2 Go page at molib2go.org and sign in with your Carthage Public Library card number. Instructions on how to check Ebooks out on your particular device are available on the Ebooks checkout website. If you have any questions, give us a call at 417-237-7040, or email us at carthage@carthagelibrary.net.